Old-Fashioned Doughnut Muffins

Alright, so this isn’t exactly a health-food post, either. I guess I’m off to a bad start. Only two recipes posted, and both are desserts!

A few weeks ago, I made my dad a birthday cake and had a lot of leftover buttercream icing. So we had saved it for later use, and today I finally decided to use up some of it.

Enter Old-Fashioned Doughnut Muffins! I wanted to make something a bit different and this definitely had me salivating after reading through the recipe. Best of all, I could melt down my frosting, add some water and use it as a glaze. That’s a win in my books.

19619304_1599828900030417_600543063_o

I had a little extra batter, even after slightly overloading the anticipated 12 muffins in the tray. Instead of wasting it, I sprayed an oven-safe ramekin with some oil and plopped the rest of the batter into it. The giant doughnut-muffin baked alongside its smaller siblings, and only took a minute or two longer to finish.

I can only vouch for the deliciousness of these doughnut-muffins fresh from the oven, still a little warm inside, but I can imagine they’ll taste good once they’re cooled off, too. I will probably end up microwaving before eating, just because a warm muffin with a cold cup of milk is practically heaven.

For those of you who are looking for healthier desserts, this is decidedly not one of them. It’s sugary, buttery, glutenous, and should be enjoyed in moderation.

Recipe

Check out the recipe courtesy of Blue Eyed Bakers.

Leave a Reply

