Cucumbers & Spinach Dip

on

It’s 3:00 PM and I’m getting hangry. It’s too early for dinner and the effects of lunch are wearing off.

I could grab a wedge of homemade lemon squares I prepared the other day, but I know doing that would only yield short-term satisfaction and won’t truly curb my appetite. And, I’ll definitely eat way too much of it.

I need to have a quick snack, so I grabbed the container of President’s Choice Spinach Dip from the fridge and sliced up a third of a cucumber.

IMG_20170713_150206
A quick shot of my snack today, taken with my cellphone

This snack probably isn’t the kind you’ll have dreams about, but it’s satisfying and refreshing. The cucumbers give a nice, cool crunch, and the spinach dip is oh-so-creamy and rich. Yes, this means the dip has a higher fat content – 2 tablespoons contain 14 g of fat. But the good news is only 2 g come from saturated fat and merely 0.2 g from trans fats. Since the rest of the fats are healthier, you can feel good about dipping into this product as long as you stick to the recommended serving size. Fats also slow digestion, which will keep you feeling full longer.

For diabetics, this is a low-carb option, too! According to the Canadian Nutrient File, 100 g of raw unpeeled cucumber (about 1/3 of a regular cucumber) yields about 3.63 g of carbohydrates. This spinach dip only contains 2 g of carbohydrate, so you can have a yummy, healthy snack with just about 6 g of carbohydrates in total.

Truly, you could enjoy this dip with a whole host of veggies. I’m thinking bell peppers, carrots, celery, or even broccoli if you like it raw!

You can also try making your own spinach dip if you are feeling fancy.

My use of President’s Choice product in this post is not sponsored; I just really like their products so they’re often in my fridge and/or pantry!

Leave a Reply

